Breaking News

List Of 12 Jyotirlingas Temples Of Lord Shiva - Twelve Jyotirlingas Temples Name and Location In India

A Jyotirlinga or Jyotirling or Jyotirlingam are shrines where Hindu Lord Shiva, is worshipped in the form of a Jyotirlingam. Lord Shiva first manifested himself as a Jyotirlinga on the night of the, Aridra Nakshatra thus the special reverence for the Jyotirlinga. There is an sanskrit shloka that lists the twelve jyotirlinga temples. The following sanskrit sloka describes about the 12 Jyotirlingas Of Lord Shiva.(1) Nageshvara Temple (2) Bhimashankar Temple (3) Baidyanath Temple (4) Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga Temple (5) Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga Temple (6) Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga Temple (7) Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga Temple (8) Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga Temple (9) Kedarnath Temple (10) Rameshwaram Temple (11) Kashi Vishwanath Temple (12) Somnath Temple are is the list of 12 Jyotirlingas Temples located in India

“Saurashtre Somanathamcha Srisaile Mallikarjunam|
Ujjayinya Mahakalam Omkaramamaleswaram ||
Paralyam Vaidyanathancha Dakinyam Bheema Shankaram |
Setu Bandhethu Ramesam, Nagesam Darukavane||
Varanasyantu Vishwesam Tryambakam Gautameethate|
Himalayetu Kedaaram, Ghrishnesamcha shivaalaye||
Etani jyotirlingani, Saayam Praatah Patennarah|
Sapta Janma Kritam pApam, Smaranena Vinashyati||”

Here is the list of all 12 Jyotirlingas Temples Of Lord Shiva In India. All information included like Location Map Of Jyotirlinga and Separate Tourist Guide Of Jyotirlinga. Also include Pictures and Photos Of Perticuler Jyotirlinga, Entry Fee, Visiting Charges, Best Time For Visit, Hotels and Restaurants Near It, Darshan Timing Of Perticuler Jyotirlinga, Temple Puja Timing.

Nageshwara Temple

Located in the suburbs of Dwaraka in Gujarat India, Nageshwar Temple also known as Nagnath Temple is one of the well-known Lord Shiva shrines.It is one of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva. It is located between Gomti Dwarka and Beyt Dwarka Island.

Read More About Nageshwara Temple

Bhimashankar Temple

Bhimashankar Temple is a Jyotirlinga shrine located 50 km northwest of Khed near Pune in India. It is located 127 km from Shivaji Nagar Pune in the Ghat region of the Sahyadri hills. Bhimashankar is also the source of the river Bhima, which flows southeast and merges with the Krishna River near Raichur. One of the 12 jyotirlinga shrines in India Bhimshankar Temple is a prominent pilgrimage centre.

Read More About Bhimashankar Temple

Baidyanath Temple

Baidyanath Temple also known as Baba Dham, Vaidhyanath Temple and Baidyanath Dham, situated in Deoghar, Jharkhand state of India. Baidyanath Jyotirlinga Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and also one of the 12 Jyotirlinga Temples of Lord Shiva. The main shrine of Lord Shiva is in lotus shape and 72 feet tall. The lingam is of a cylindrical form about 5 inches in diameter and projects about 4 inches from the centre of a large slab of basalt.

Read More About Baidyanath Temple

Grishneshwar Temple

Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga Temple is an ancient pilgrimage site revered as the abode of one of the 12 Jyotirlingas Temples of Lord Shiva. It is located at a distance of 11 km from Daulatabad near Aurangabad in Maharashtra India. Also known by several names like Kusumeswarar, Ghushmeswara, Grushmeswara, Grishneswara is located at approximately 100 kms from Manmad station just adjacent to the famous Ellora Caves.

Read More About Grishneshwar Temple

Mallikarjuna Temple

The Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple Located on the southern bank of the Krishna River One of the 12 Jyotirlinga temples of Lord Shiva. Mallikarjun Temple is situated on Shri Shaila Mountain by the banks of the Patal Ganga, Krishna River at Srisailam in the southern state of Andhra Pradesh In India. Also known as Kailash of the South India, Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga Temple constitutes one of the 12 Jyotirlingam shrines of Lord Shiva and is one of the greatest Shaivaite shrines in India.

Read More About Mallikarjuna Temple

Mahakaleshwar Temple

The Mahakaleshwar Temple at Ujjain is an important pilgramage place for Hindus Also one of the 12 Jyotirlingas Of Lord Shiva. Shri Mahakaleshwar Temple is visited by people from all over the world. The idol of Mahakaleshwar is known to be dakshinamurti, facing the South. This is a unique feature, upheld by tantric tradition to be found only in Mahakaleshwar among the 12 jyotirlingas.

Read More About Mahakaleshwar Temple

Trimbakeshwar Temple

Shri Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga Temple is located at a distance of about 30-km from Nasik in Maharashtra India near the Brahmagiri mountain from which the river Godavari flows. Trimbakeshwar Temple is revered as one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Lord Shiva.

Read More About Trimbakeshwar Temple

Omkareshwar Temple

The Temple of Lord Omkareshwar is situated on the banks of River Narmada, in between Indore and Khandwa at Madhya Pradesh in India. The temple is situated on an island, which is encircled by the NarmadaRiver. Also known as Shri Omkar Mandhata Temple in Omkareshwar is one of the sacred temples of Madhya Pradesh which houses one of the twelve Jyotirlingas in India. On the banks of river Narmada, there is a huge island on which the fourth of the JyotirLinga “Omkaram Amaleshwar” is situated. This island and the river are shaped like “OM” and that is how it derives its name.

Read More About Omkareshwar Temple

Kedarnath Temple

The temple at Kedarnath is one of the most sacred temples in the country. Each year the summer months see thousands heading to make this difficult pilgrimage. One of the holiest pilgrimages for the Hindus, Kedarnath Temple Jyotirlinga is located in the picturesque surroundings of Rudra Himalaya Range at a height of 12000 feet on a mountain named Kedar. Kedarnath Temple is One Of The Twelve Jyotirlingas Of Lord Shiva.

Read More About Kedarnath Temple

Rameshwaram Temple

The Rameshwaram Jyotirlinga represents the southernmost of the 12 Jyotirlingams of India and has been a time honored pilgrimage center held on par with Banaras. Visiting Rameshwaram is significant for the Hindus as a pilgrimage to Benaras is incomplete without a Pilgrimage to Rameshwaram.

Read More About Rameshwaram Temple

Kashi Vishwanath Temple

The Kashi Vishwanath temple is located at Varanasi Uttar Pradesh in India Is One of the major Tourist Attraction in varanasi.It stands on the western bank of holiest river Ganges. One Of The Twelve Jyotirlingas Of Lord Shiva Vishweshwara or Vishwanatha is enshrined in the Kashi Vishwanath temple considered as one of the holiest temples of India.

Read More About Kashi Vishwanath Temple

Somnath Temple

The Somnath temple, the first in the twelve jyothirlingas, is located at the Viraval port - Prabhas Pattan in Saurashtra - Gujarat India. Somnath is considered to be the first of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Shiva and is a revered pilgrimage center in India. The Someshwar Mahadev temple stands tall among the temples of India.

Read More About Somnath Temple


  1. Stunning quest there. What occurred after? Thanks! facebook login

  2. Even in his subtle form, Swami continues to touch the hearts of the indigent people through the initiatives undertaken by His ardent devotees.

    madhusudan naidu


Write a Review